SC Point Reduction Course
Reduce the points on your driving record in South Carolina and enhance your defensive driving skills with our Virtual 8-hour Defensive Driving Course as well as In-Person Training at SC Technical Colleges. A reduction in points may be made one time in a three-year period.
Virtual 8-Hour Defensive Driving
Our most comprehensive defensive driving curriculum, this 8-hour, highly interactive classroom course provides the highest level of defensive driving knowledge and skills. The course is instructed virtually and accepted by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) for point reduction. Successful completion of this course will reduce four (4) points off your driver's license or CDL license. A reduction in points may only be made one time in a three-year period.
Please check your SCDMV point status. The points must be on your SC driver's license BEFORE you register for a course.
We cover the benefits of being a safe and responsible driver as well as techniques for avoiding high-risk driving behaviors. You'll learn how to respond to immediate dangers and anticipate potential hazards.
Virtual Class Requirements
Access to internet
Computer or tablet (not compatible with phones)
Class workbook (mailed after registration)
Zoom link (emailed after registration)
In-Person Training Options
Looking for training in a classroom? The SC Technical College System offers courses across South Carolina at the following convenient locations.
Aiken Technical College: 803.593.9231
Central Carolina Technical College: 803.778.6656
Florence-Darlington Technical College: 843.413.2715
Greenville Technical College: 864.250.8800
Horry-Georgetown Technical College: 843.477.5363
Midlands Technical College: 803.732.0432
Northeastern Technical College: 843.921.6924
Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College: 803.535.1236
Piedmont Technical College: 864.941.8400
Spartanburg Community College: 864.592.4900
Technical College of the Lowcountry: 843.525.8205
Tri-County Technical College: 864.646.1700
Trident Technical College: 843.958.5812
York Technical College: 803.325.2888
Locations Across South Carolina
Take the point reduction course at a location near you.
How can I reduce my driving record points in SC?
This virtual course is accredited by the SCDMV as the point reduction program. To reduce four points off your driver's or CDL license, you simply register and complete the class. We'll report that you've successfully finished the course to the SCDMV, and they will reduce your points.
- What are driving record points?
If you break traffic laws, you may earn points against your South Carolina driver's license. The purpose of the point system is to make problem drivers improve their driving habits and protect innocent people from careless and reckless drivers. Point systems vary by state. Learn more about the SC point system.
- What if I have less than four points?
If you only have one, two, or three points and you request a point reduction, you can deduct the points showing on your record at the time. Keep in mind, that you will not be eligible to receive point reduction again for three years.
- How can I avoid suspension?
If you receive 12 or more points, you can avoid suspension by attending a defensive driving course to reduce four points.
- You will have 30 days from the date of the suspension notice until the date the suspension begins. Once the suspension begins, the point reduction will not cancel the suspension.
- If the violation date is before the Defensive Driving Course completion date, credit of up to four points will be given. All violations occurring after the completion date of the course will not be accepted.
- This point reduction course is good once every three years.
*This information about point reduction only applies to individuals with a valid South Carolina driver's license. All questions regarding driver license status or violation information should be referred to Driver Services at (803) 896-5000.
- Can I take this class to reduce my points in another state?
Check your state's requirements first and ensure they will accept NSC 8-Hour Defensive Driving course certificates. For out-of-state drivers, we provide an official certificate of completion to you. Then it's your responsibility to submit the certificate to the state or organization that needs a copy.
- How do I check the points on my driving record?
You can get a summary of your driver record points for free online at the SC DMV website. You'll need a few pieces of information like your license number, social security number and date of birth.
- Will this class remove or erase my traffic ticket or violation from my driving record?
No. The 8-hour Defensive Driving course only reduces the points on your driving record. Traffic violations (tickets) stay on your record with the SCDMV for at least 5 years.
- Can Georgia drivers attend the SC Point Reduction class?
Georgia drivers can receive point reduction from certified driver improvement schools. For more information about point reduction in Georgia, visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services site.
Courses for Companies & Insurance Discounts
Interested in boosting your company's safety training? You're welcome to explore our 8-hour program as well as our 4-hour defensive driving course, which is most commonly used by companies. The 4-hour course is also widely accepted for corporate or individual insurance discounts (check with your insurer). These defensive driving skills could save your life.
Point Reduction Contact
Have questions about the point reduction program in South Carolina? Reach out. Wondering if the SC point reduction will apply in your state? Check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles.